Two Faculty Retire, Rewarded Faculty Emeritus Status

Portrait of Sandra Siegrist and Scott Wilson inside Hodges Hall of COTC's Newark campus.

Central Ohio Technical College (COTC) recognized two faculty members as faculty emeritus this May for their years of dedicated service to the college in light of their announced retirements.

Professor Scott E. Wilson worked at COTC for 44 years, teaching both English and communication courses during that time. Professor Sandra Siegrist, a mathematics faculty member, has been with the college for 38 years, for a combined 82 years of service.

Wilson first began teaching at COTC in 1980 as part-time faculty, transitioning to full-time in 1983. Among his numerous achievements throughout his career are several Teacher of the Year nominations and being named a Legends of Loyalty recipient in 2016. “Professor Wilson has played a pivotal role in shaping curriculum development and innovation within the communications department,” said COTC President John M. Berry, PhD.

Wilson also aided in overseeing the transition from quarters to semesters; the speech/communication curriculum; and helped the shift to online delivery, especially during COVID; among many other accomplishments. “His involvement in various faculty committees and extracurricular activities demonstrates Professor Wilson’s steadfast dedication to the college community,” Berry praised further.

Siegrist joined the COTC community as a full-time faculty member in 1986. Since then, she has contributed greatly to the college. Some of her numerous accomplishments include receiving the Teaching Excellence Award in 1992 and becoming a Legends of Loyalty recipient in 2017. “Professor Siegrist’s leadership exemplifies her dedication to academic excellence and continuous improvement,” enthused Berry.

Other noteworthy achievements include developing remediation-free and co-requisite programs; creating the Quantitative Reasoning course; and contributing to several committees, initiatives and community partnerships. Berry cited her work on the semester conversion initiative in 2012 as “exemplary and outstanding. Her leadership and dedication to the curriculum committee were unequaled by her colleagues.”

He described both Wilson and Siegrist’s years of service as “unselfish, loyal and dedicated.”  The emeritus title is honorary and granted in recognition of outstanding service. This honor is reserved for those retiring from dedicated service to the college as regular status members of the faculty, administrative and professional staff, or Board of Trustees. 

COTC is a fully accredited, public college dedicated to providing high-quality, accessible programs of technical education in response to current and emerging employment needs. COTC has four campus locations: Newark, Coshocton, Knox and Pataskala.