Staff Members Honored for Contributions to Campus


Central Ohio Technical College (COTC) and The Ohio State University at Newark recently honored two campus employees with special awards.

2021 Diversity Award

Karess Gilcrease, academic success coach at Ohio State Newark, was awarded the 2021 President’s and Dean/Director’s Diversity Award. “Karess has been involved in several key diversity initiatives on campus over this past year that directly advanced the campus’s mission of providing an inclusive environment where diversity is valued,” wrote Jamie White, director of retention and student success initiatives at Ohio State Newark in her nomination. “Karess’ commitment to diversity is visible daily in her work with students.”

COTC President John M. Berry, 2021 Diversity Award Winner Karess Gilcrease and Ohio State Newark Dean/Director William L. MacDonald.

This annual Diversity Award recognizes outstanding achievements which advance the college’s/campus’s overall awareness of and sensitivity to differences among people. These differences include race, mixed races and heritages, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, age, physical abilities, mental abilities, cultural heritage, religious beliefs, political beliefs and geographic location.

2021 Greenstein Award

Brian Boehmer, facilities superintendent for COTC and Ohio State Newark, was awarded the 2021 Julius S. and Joette Greenstein Award. “As facilities superintendent, he ensured that safety protocols were in place across all campus facilities, including signage, determining PPE needs, and assessing workspaces and furniture to ensure social distancing,” wrote Jacqueline Parrill, EdD, vice president and chief of staff at COTC and chief of staff at Ohio State Newark, in her nomination. “Coordinating these efforts between our two institutions has been no easy task,” wrote Parrill, “but Brian’s efforts and attitude helped us to maneuver successfully in these uncharted waters.”

Ohio State Newark Dean/Director William L. MacDonald, COTC/Ohio State Newark Superintendent of Facilities Brian Boehmer and COTC President John M. Berry.

This prestigious Greenstein Award is given annually to a staff member, administrator or faculty member of COTC and/or Ohio State Newark whose efforts, attitude, deeds and behavior made a major contribution toward the perpetuation of a genuine spirit of mutual respect and cooperation between COTC and Ohio State. The award is named for long-time campus chief administrator Julius S. Greenstein, PhD, and his wife, Joette.

The awards were presented by Ohio State Newark Dean/Director William L. MacDonald, PhD, and COTC President John M. Berry, PhD. They thanked the award recipients for their continued dedication to higher education and contributions to the campus.

COTC is a fully accredited, public college dedicated to providing high-quality, accessible programs of technical education in response to current and emerging employment needs. COTC has four campus locations: Newark, Coshocton, Knox and Pataskala.