Independence Day Concert and Fireworks Set for July 3


The Gilbert Reese Family Foundation, Central Ohio Technical College (COTC), The Ohio State University at Newark, and our community sponsors invite the public to join us for a fun-filled evening of music and entertainment. The annual Independence Day Concert and Fireworks celebration is on July 3 at 5:30 p.m. at the shared campus of COTC and Ohio State Newark. Admission and parking are free.

Bring your lawn chairs, blankets and picnics, and sit back and enjoy live music by local musicians in the Martha Grace Reese Amphitheatre. This year’s performers include The Sticks & Stones, Newark-Granville Symphony Orchestra, and the Licking County 4-H Band. Over 20 local food vendors and trucks will be stationed around campus, offering a mouthwatering array of food, treats and beverages.

After the sunlight fades, an awe-inspiring fireworks display will illuminate the night sky, accompanied by live patriotic music.

Event Schedule
  • 5:30 p.m. Food Vendors Open
    Licking County 4-H Band (Warner Patio)
  • 6:30 p.m. Sticks & Stones (Martha Grace Amphitheatre)
  • 8 p.m. Newark-Granville Symphony Orchestra 10 p.m. Fireworks

Reserving space on campus prior to 10 a.m. is prohibited. Please leave alcohol, tobacco products, grills, drones, pets and fireworks at home. 

For more details, event rules, map, and public safety plan for road closures and traffic pattern changes happening at the conclusion of the event, visit

Thank you to our sponsors for making this year’s event possible.

Founding Sponsors:

  • Central Ohio Technical College
  • Gilbert Reece Family Foundation
  • The Ohio State University at Newark

2023 Community Sponsors:

  • Licking Memorial Health Systems
  • Matesich Distributing Company
  • Park National Bank
  • The Energy Cooperative

COTC is a fully accredited, public college dedicated to providing high-quality, accessible programs of technical education in response to current and emerging employment needs. COTC has four campus locations: Newark, Coshocton, Knox and Pataskala.