Independence Day Concert and Fireworks Return

Application for Vendors Now Open

Fireworks erupt against a black sky above the Warner Center.

Central Ohio Technical College (COTC) and The Ohio State University at Newark are excited to announce the much-anticipated return of the Independence Day Concert and Fireworks Celebration on July 3. The college/university seeks food vendors to participate and is now accepting applications.

The popular community event has been on a two-year hiatus as the COVID-19 pandemic canceled events and public gatherings. This year, COTC, Ohio State Newark and the J. Gilbert Reese Family Foundation are ready to once again dazzle and delight the community with patriotic sounds and spectacular illuminations on the shared Newark campus located at 1179 University Drive. Admission and parking are free. 

The celebration kicks off at 6:15 p.m. with musical performances from local favorites. The event will climax at dusk when fireworks light up the sky, accompanied by patriotic music for a spirited and sparkling cap to the evening.

Vendor Information

The event is anticipated to draw 15,000–20,000 people to campus. Vendor selection is limited to food vendors, nonprofit education organizations and services that enhance the family-friendly nature of the event (e.g., face painting) at the discretion of the event planning committee. A limited number of spaces are available.

Apply at

The application deadline is Sunday, May 8. Please note that applying does not guarantee acceptance. The committee will notify vendors of their status via email within two weeks of the application deadline. Accepted vendors must submit a certificate of insurance and pay a $150 fee. Registered 501(c)(3) organizations may participate at no cost.

The J. Gilbert Reese Family Foundation, COTC and Ohio State Newark proudly sponsor this event.

COTC is a fully accredited, public college dedicated to providing high-quality, accessible programs of technical education in response to current and emerging employment needs. COTC has four campus locations: Newark, Coshocton, Knox and Pataskala.