COTC and Ohio State Newark Moving to Modified Campus Operations Beginning March 23


The Ohio State University at Newark and Central Ohio Technical College’s (COTC) four campus locations (Newark, Coshocton, Knox and Pataskala) will implement modified campus operations beginning Monday, March 23, and continue indefinitely.

Both institutions will remain open for business remotely – all campus buildings will be closed to the public and no in-person services will be available. Staff will only be available via email, and many offices will be available through regular business phone numbers. Teleworking will be implemented where possible for all staff members. There will be a limited onsite presence to maintain business continuity, including public safety and security and facilities staff.

Both institutions have moved most classroom and all lab sections as well as all student services to remote delivery methods for the remainder of the semester. Unless otherwise noted, all clinicals, practicums and internships are suspended indefinitely.

Rotary Park Playground and Pavilion at 925 Sharon Valley Road, Newark, which is managed by the shared campus, will also be closed indefinitely.

Central Ohio Technical College and The Ohio State University at Newark have forged an outstanding array of educational opportunities for the central Ohio region and beyond. This partnership is viewed as a model for higher education in the state of Ohio. At Central Ohio Technical College, students gain hands-on, applicable experience to begin working in the field, or to transfer those credits toward a bachelor’s degree program. The Ohio State University at Newark offers an academic environment that’s inclusive of diversity, challenging but supportive with world-renowned professors and access to Ohio State’s more than 200 majors.

COTC is a fully accredited, public college dedicated to providing high-quality, accessible programs of technical education in response to current and emerging employment needs. COTC has four campus locations: Newark, Coshocton, Knox and Pataskala.