Students Inducted into Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

NEWARK, Ohio, November 25, 2019 -Twelve Central Ohio Technical College (COTC) students took the oath of membership to be inducted into the Alpha Theta Zeta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) honor society on November 20. Phi Theta Kappa is the world's largest and most prestigious honor society for two-year college students.Image

The induction ceremony included comments from COTC President John M. Berry, PhD, and a keynote address from Braden Patchett, 2017 COTC and Phi Theta Kappa alumnus.

Berry told inductees, "The PTK commitment to the development of service and leadership is stalwart and unfaltering. Students, your induction into Phi Theta Kappa is an acknowledgment of your hard work, your drive and a quality of mind that has led you to excel here at COTC."

ImagePatchett furthered President Berry's sentiment, "Phi Theta Kappa is a group of people who show the qualities of leadership and service, as well as academics. The values and skills you can develop in Phi Theta Kappa transfer into your chosen career path." He acknowledged how being a member of the honor society helped him make connections in the community through networking. Patchett said that being a PTK member helped with his career-based skill development through service projects with the Licking County Park District, Together We Grow Gardens and several other organizations. He also noted how the organization helped him embrace his leadership skills that he utilized in the classroom, in other student organizations and in his career. Patchett works as an engineering designer for Salas O'Brien where he began as an intern during his education at COTC.

To become a member of Phi Theta Kappa, a two-year college student must have completed 12 credit hours of associate degree coursework and have a grade point average of at least 3.5. The international honor society serves to recognize the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming.

COTC's chapter, Alpha Theta Zeta, was chartered in 1982 and its bylaws approved in 1992. Thirteen inductees were unable to attend the ceremony but will complete the oath of membership at a later date.

Those who took the oath of membership at the ceremony include:

Kelsey Abel – Coshocton

Hannah Brown – Somerset

Olivia Campbell – Mt. Vernon

Darren Collins – Mt. Vernon

Dannah Douglas – Newark

Teagan Fredo – Thornville

Jensen Gartner – Hebron

Lori Merritt – Nashport

Amanda Nihiser – Thornville

Taylor Osborn – Utica

Leslie Shattuck – Coshocton

Donna Strosnider – Centerburg

Photo captions: Top: Fall 2019 Alpha Theta Zeta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Inductees. Bottom: COTC and Phi Theta Kappa Alumnus Braden Patchett delivers the keynote address.

COTC is a fully accredited, public college dedicated to providing high quality, accessible programs of technical education in response to current and emerging employment needs. COTC is the only technical college in Ohio operating four full-service campus locations: Newark, Coshocton, Knox and Pataskala.