Current Student Organizations

Current Student Organizations

Org. NameCategoryDescriptionPresidentAdvisorAdvisor Email
American Indian and Indigenous Studies OrganizationMulticulturalThe Objectives of AISO are to expand education of American Indian Studies outside the classroom, develop a networ ​k of shared interest, allow members to get involved on campus, and give back to the communityDella Barnett, barnett.555@buckeyemail.osu.eduJohn Lowlow.89@osu.edu
American Sign Language Student OrganizationMulticulturalASLSO Provides a space for students to engage with one another through ASL, to promote Deaf cultural awareness, and to broaden ASL skills through campus and community engagement activitiesNathan Tobias- tobias.86@osu.eduJamie BrunerBruner.15@osu.edu
Billiards ClubRecreationalThe Billiards Club provides a community on campus for Billiards players to compete and play for leisure.Damian Cook-- Cook-40750@cotcmail.cotc.eduTonia Osbornosborn.239@cotc.edu
Buckeyethon OSU Newark/COTCServiceBuckeyethon at Ohio State Newark and COTC creates awareness and raises funds for children with cancer, hosts program that enhance the student experience, and promotes the value and spirit of philanthropic service.Jesse McAndrew- mcandrew.34@buckeyemail.osu.edu Justin KholKhol.4@cotc.edu
Campus Activities BoardEvent ProgrammingCAB Newark Campus is responsible for many student, faculty, and staff based events. Most of our events are at little or NO cost to participants. The Board is made up of students from OSU and COTC who brainstorm, discuss, and plan activities. Any one can attend our weekly meetings, even if they do no want to be a member, and we welcome any and all event ideas.Jesse McAndrew- mcandrew.34@buckeyemail.osu.edu Erin Hillhill.2204@osu.edu
Collegiate 4-H ClubSpecial InterestThe Purpose of this organization is to maintain and increase interest in 4-H, develop leadership, provide an opportunity for wholesome recreation, provide an opportunity to make friends with other college students, and encourage participation in community activities.Ben Abel- Abel.118@osu.eduLisa McCutcheon and Jessica Huffmanmccutcheon.46@osu.edu   and  huffman.817@cotc.edu 
Community Outreach CommitteeServiceThe Community Outreach Committee is a group of Central Ohio Technical College and Ohio State Newark students who have a desire to help the local community. The group organizes volunteer events, plans fundraisers and helps raise awareness about social issues throughout local social services agencies.Zach Sparks- Sparks.316@osu.eduJennifer Arnyjarny@cotc.edu
Creative Writing ClubAcademicThe Creative Writing Club creates a sense of community among those who love to write creatively, helps individual members improve their skills and creative writing abilities, and supports the interests and activities of its members.Heidi Forthofer-- forthofer.12@osu.eduDr. David Rudermanruderman.4@osu.edu
DECAProfessionalDECA prepares emerging leaders and entrepreneurs for careers in marketing, finance, hospitality and management in high schools and colleges around the globe.Judson Lewis-- Lewis.2562@osu.edu Cheryl CashCash.110@osu.edu
Der Deutschklub von Ohio State Newark AcademicWe are a group of students and faculty who are interested in learning and participating in German language and culture.Della Barnett, barnett.555@buckeyemail.osu.eduStephen Evansevans.850@osu.edu
Ebonye HorizonsMulticulturalStudent Organization that promotes African American Awareness on campus. All are welcome.Jade Davis- David.5414@osu.eduVorley Taylortaylor.1051@osu.edu
Euchre ClubRecreationalThe Euchre club strives to teach students how to play euchre, enrich social involvement and have fun.Terry Gill -gill-43632@cotc.eduJohn Crissingercrissinger.5@osu.edu
Forensic Science ClubAcademicThe Forensic Science Club Educates students interested in forensic science about the career field and establishes student and professional networks dedicated to the improvement of forensic scienceKasey Jackson- jackson-37228@cotc.eduTim ElligetElliget.1@cotc.edu
Global Community K-5ServiceThe purpose of the Global Community K-5 organization is to work to create equal educational opportunities for children around the world, hold fundraisers to collect school supplies and monetary donations, educate the local community about global education practices, and to continue learning about the process of becoming a non-profit organizationAdrionna McCoy- Mccoy.679@osu.eduDioni Viscarriviscarri.1@osu.edu
Habitat for Humanity- Collegiate ChallengeServiceThe Habitat for Humanity Student Organization is dedicated to the mission of Habitat for Humanity and participates in the annual Collegiate Challenge. This is an alternative Spring Break trip where the group heads south to help provide quality housing to those in need.Roman Lee- lee.8208@osu.eduErin Hillhill.2204@cotc.edu
Introspect- Psychology ClubSpecial InterestThe objectives and purposes of Introspect are to promote, enhance and further develop educational and social achievements and interests in psychology; influence the conditions under which prospective members are being prepared for their professional role in society, and advance the interest and welfare of the prospective members. Activities sponsored by Introspect include community service, volunteer work, bake sales, cookouts, ice skating, bonfires, bowling, movie nights, and attending research conferences.Zach Sparks- Sparks.316@osu.eduDr. Jim Wirthwirth.48@osu.edu
Journey Campus MinistryFaith-BasedJourney Campus Ministry is a unified body of students dedicated to the search for God's purpose in our lives. This often means that we can not be followers; rather, that we must set ourselves apart from what is considered to be the norm or present day trend. We welcome all who want to obey what Jesus called the greatest two commandments; to love God and one another. Vittoria Glover- Glover.260@osu.eduDr. Ken Madsenmadsen.34@osu.edu
Laurel Collegiate SocietyAcademicLCS is the honors and high ability student organization. Students must have a 3.4 GPA or better to actively serve. We have a student lounge for work and social activities in the Warner Center. We organize extracurricular activities that are academically-based throughout the year. We provide support and enrichment outside of the classroom for motivated and high-ability students.Sarah Oleson- oleson.11@buckeyemail.osu.eduWillie Hoho.492@osu.edu
Life OlympicsFaith-BasedLife Olympics is a faith based organization that creates a safe community for students to talk about roadblocks in life, provides Christian based advice and introduces Christian beliefs and value to non-believers and those who believe alike.Jalauna Phillips-- Phillips.1743@osu.eduLauren Herbruckherbruck.7@osu.edu
Ohio State/COTC IntramuralsRecreationalIntramural sports provide an opportunity for students of all skill levels to stay active and compete weekly with other students. Each year, approximately 750 Newark Campus students participate in a variety of Intramural events. A specific Intramurals bulletin board with information and schedules for each quarter is located in Adena Hall between the Men's and Women's locker rooms.Lazaro Fuentes- Fuentes.6@osu.eduLazaro Fuentesfuentes.6@osu.edu
Phi Theta KappaAcademicCOTC's Chapter of the international two year honorary that seeks to recognize academic achievement of college students and to provide opportunities for them to grow as scholars and leadersAngela Emler-- Emler-40760@cotc.eduHolly MasonMason.536@cotc.edu
Psi ChiAcademicPsi Chi is the International Honor Society in Psychology, founded in 1929 for the purposes of encouraging, stimulating, and maintaining excellence in scholarship, and advancing the science of psychology.Arisha Rahman- rahman.116@osu.eduMelissa Buelowbuelow.11@osu.edu
PRIDE at OSU Newark/COTCMulticulturalPRIDE seeks to provide a safe and supportive environment for the exploration of issues pertaining to sexual orientation and non- traditional gender identity, encourage social ties amongst supportive students faculty and staff, and to sponsor outreach and education events to increase the understanding of these issues on campus.La'Vint Walton-- Walton.433@buckeyemail.osu.eduErin Hill, Max Gulick, and Beth Wallacehill.204@cotc.edu, gulick.24@osu.edu and Wallace.308@osu.edu
Radiologic Technology Student OrganizationProfessionalOrganization to promote professionalism and involvement within professional societies/organizations.Ashley Mahaffey-mahaffey-30137@cotcmail.cotc.eduWhitney ReeseReese.2234@cotc.edu
Society of Engineering TechnologyAcademicSociety of Engineering Technology (SET) - a student club at COTC and OSU Newark. This organization is made up of undergraduate and graduate students whom are currently enrolled or alumni in any engineering technology field available at COTC and OSU Newark. SET's purpose is to raise awareness of educational & career opportunities available to a student's preferred engineering technology field. This may include the following but not limited to: Architectural, Civil, Mechanical, Electrical and Manufacturing.Adam Taylor-- taylor-52819@cotc.eduWhitney Tussingtussing.19@cotc.edu
Student Cultural CouncilMulticulturalThe objectives and purposes of the Student Cultural Council (SCC) are to support designated programs offered by the Office of Multi-Cultural Affairs through advertisements, demonstrations, and participation as well as support other cultural and diverse organizations.Arisha Rahman- rahman.116@osu.eduVorley Taylortaylor.1051@osu.edu
Student DemocratsPoliticalThis organization raises awareness of the Democratic Party's views and platforms, educates the student population about all political positions, and works to create an environment conducive to debate and study of political issues.Michael Nyeste-- nyeste.7@osu.eduDr. Jane Harfharf.4@osu.edu
Student GovernmentStudent GovernanceStudent GovernmentRoman Lee- lee.8208@osu.eduHolly MasonMason.536@cotc.edu
Table-top and Role-playing Gaming ClubRecreationalThe TRG Club engages students in team building, creatively causes and solves problems in a safe environment, and engages and fellowship and fun on an intellectual level.Joel Harvey-- Harvey.568@buckeyemail.osu.eduJoe McCartneymccartney.145@osu.edu
Viva CulturaMulticulturalThe purpose of Viva Cultural is to bring awareness to Hispanic and Latino cultures, educate on issues such as immigration, bring the Newark community together through Latino and Hispanic activities and raise funds for organizations that directly impact the Latino and Hispanic communities.Arnaldo Gonzalez Calero- gonzalezcalero.1@buckeyemail.osu.eduFerdinand Avila-MedinaAvila-Medina.1@osu.edu

 Popular Pages

 

 

Tutoring Serviceshttp://www.cotc.edu/Life/Pages/The-Tutoring-Center.aspxTutoring Services
Recreation Sportshttp://www.cotc.edu/Life/Pages/Athletes-and-Recreation.aspxRecreation Sports
Intramuralshttp://www.cotc.edu/Life/Pages/Intramurals.aspxIntramurals
Constitution Dayhttp://www.cotc.edu/Life/Pages/Constitution-Day.aspxConstitution Day
Tutor Resourceshttp://www.cotc.edu/Life/Pages/Tutors.aspxTutor Resources

 Recent Documents

 

 

Math Tutoring at Knox Campushttp://www.cotc.edu/Life/Documents/Knox Campus.docxMath Tutoring at Knox Campus
Math Tutoring at Pataskalahttp://www.cotc.edu/Life/Documents/Pataskala Campus.docxMath Tutoring at Pataskala
Math Tutoring at Coshocton Campushttp://www.cotc.edu/Life/Documents/Coshocton Campus.docxMath Tutoring at Coshocton Campus
Student Handbookhttp://www.cotc.edu/Life/Documents/Student Handbook.pdfStudent Handbook
Concern and Feedback Policyhttp://www.cotc.edu/Life/Documents/Concern and Feedback Policy.pdfConcern and Feedback Policy

 Other Pages

 

 

Student Organizationshttps://orgsync.com/25104/chapter Student OrganizationsTrue
Career Devlopmenthttp://www.cotc.edu/Life/Pages/Career-Development.aspx Career DevlopmentFalse
Recreational Sportshttp://www.cotc.edu/Life/Pages/Athletes-and-Recreation.aspx Recreational SportsFalse
Student Handbookhttp://www.cotc.edu/Life/Documents/Student%20Handbook.pdf Student HandbookTrue
Multi-Cultural Affairshttp://www.cotc.edu/Life/Pages/Office-of-Multi-Cultural-Affairs.aspx Multi-Cultural AffairsFalse