Egg Drop

Egg Drop


H​igh s​chool students competed in the 7th annual Egg Drop competition held on April 26, 2019 on the Newark campus. Participants showcased innovative designs protecting an egg dropped from a second story height of 22 feet.

First-place winners received a $1,000 COTC scholarship (junior and seniors only) along with a Sonosphere Bluetooth speaker and a trophy. Second-place winners received a Switchback headphone speaker and a trophy; third place winners received a COTC swag bag and a trophy.

​ ​​Thank you to our 2019 sponsors!

MPW Industrial Services ($1000)​; Tech International ($1000); ​Trillium Farms ($1000 and 21 dozen eggs); UMD Automated Systems ($1000); McWane Ductile ($300); ​MS Consultants, Inc. ($300); Screen Machine Industries ($300), Weekley Electric, LLC ($300); Brown Distributing (20 cases of water bottles) and Donatos Pizza (discount).

2019 Egg Drop Competition Winners


Freshman Division                                                                                                                                    

1st - Jeremy Johnson, Johnstown                                                                                                   

2nd - Jonah Hoffman-Weitsman, Lancaster                                                                                 

3rd - Gabriella Pound, Granville Christian

Sophomore Division                                                                                                                     

1st - Nick Townsend                                                                                                            

2nd - TJ Echard, Granville Christian                                                                                              

3rd - Emilee Mills, Granville Christian

Junior Division                                                                                                                               

1st - Sam Short, Granville Christian                                                                                              

2nd - Thomas Benvie, Granville Christian                                                                                                

3rd - Alexander Deeds, Granville Christian

Senior Division                                                                                                                  

1st - Sarah Hill, Granville Christian                                                                                  

2nd - Dominic Nutter, Granville Christian                                                                                                           

3rd - Sean Magers, East Knox


1st - Egg-sterminators - Jacey Halsey, Mykensie White, Chloe Alfmann - Crooksville                               

2nd - The ScRaMbLeRs - Walker Harris, Brock White, Mark Westfall - Crooksville                                    

3rd - Crowtown Conservatives - Brody Hammersley, Justin Skeleton, Evan Bradford, Clay Whittington - Coshocton High School




Egg Drop 2017_7_lr.jpg Egg Drop 2017_8_lr.jpg Egg Drop 2017_10_lr.jpg Egg Drop 2017_12_lr.jpg Egg Drop 2017_9_lr.jpg Egg Drop 2017_13_lr.jpg

Egg Drop 2017_14_lr.jpg  Egg Drop 2017_16_lr.jpg

Egg Drop 2017_17_lr.jpg Egg Drop 2017_18_lr.jpg Egg Drop 2017_19_lr.jpg


Egg Drop Mascot
​​Egg Drop participantGirl participant dropping egg over balcony

view of Egg Drop Contest from balconyEgg Drop participantsEgg Drop Participant droping egg over balcony

Egg Drop refs
Egg Drop participants 

Group of Egg Drop participantsEgg Drop